Novosibirsk State University of Architecture, Design and Arts keeps on developing the traditions of the Siberian architectural school, which were established at the engineering department of the Tomsk Technical Institute by A.D. Kryachkov and A.E. Sabek in 1909.
Novosibirsk Architectural Institute (NARCHI) started being in operation as an independent institution of higher professional education from the end of the 80s of the XX century. NARCHI was created on the basis of the architectural faculty of the V.V. Kuibyshev Novosibirsk Engineering and Construction Institute in 1989.
In 1993, NARCHI moved to the center of Novosibirsk. It located in the building which is a monument of architecture built upon the project of architect A. Kryachkov at the beginning of the 20th century.
In March 1996, the Institute was awarded the status of the Novosibirsk State Academy of Architecture and Fine Arts (NSAAFA).
In October 2015, the Academy was renamed as the Novosibirsk State University of Architecture, Design and Arts (NSUADA).
In 1995 the Information and Exhibition Center was organized within the higher educational institution. The best projects and works of art of students and teachers are exhibited at regular exhibitions. Annual Interregional Siberian contests "Golden Capital" in the field of urban planning, architecture and design take place in this center as well.
A structural subdivision - the S.N. Balandin Museum of the History of Siberian Architecture was created in 2000. A unique collection of rare photographs and negatives, original author's projects (since 1924) and copies, drawings, sketches, memorial items, scientific works, architects' manuscripts, archival documents are stored in the museum.
In 2015, the Kosov Museum of the History of Design was organized at the University.